Politics INEC Reschedules Phase 2 of Voters Card Distribution, Registration



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Friday rescheduled the second phase of the distribution of Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) and Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) involving 12 states.

A statement in Abuja signed by Mr Kayode Idowu, the Chief Press Secretary to Prof. Attahiru Jega, the INEC Chairman, said the exercise would now begin on August 15.

The exercise was earlier scheduled to hold from July 18 to July 20.

It added that at the end of the polling unit level distribution, uncollected PVCs would be taken to the commission’s respective local government offices for subsequent distribution.

The statement said the CVR in the affected states would now be from Wednesday, August 20 to Monday, August 25.

States in the second phase of the programme are Yobe, Bauchi, Jigawa, Sokoto, Kwara, Anambra, Ebonyi, Ondo, Oyo, Delta and Cross River, as well as the FCT.

The statement said new dates would be announced later for the exercise in Adamawa, Borno, Kaduna, Katsina, Kano, Plateau, Nasarawa, Niger, Imo, Lagos, Ogun, Edo and Rivers. This would be the exercise’s phase three.

#INEC #Kano #Rivers #Edo #Nasarawa #Kastina #Ogun #Adamawa #Borno #Kwara #Anambra #Ebonyi #Yobe #Delta