Sports Nigerian Players Out as CAF Releases 5-man Shortlist of African Footballer of The Year [LIST]


Social Member
The African Football Confederation (CAF) has released the names of five players shortlisted to vie for its Glo-CAF 2016 African Player of the Year Award without a Nigerian.

afrian footballer.jpg

The names of the 5 players according to a statement on the body’s website, are:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borrusia Dortmund)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)

Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)

For the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), the top five are;

Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe)

Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)

Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe & Zambia)

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda)

It said the top five was decided by votes from the members of the CAF Media Committee, CAF Technical and Development Committee and half of the 20-member Panel of Experts (10 persons).

The statement said that for the final phase, votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the 54 National Associations affiliated to CAF plus Associate Members will be involved.

Also, Reunion Island and Zanzibar, together with the other half of the 20-member Panel of Experts (10 persons) will be counted towards the determination of the eventual winners, it said.

The statement added that the 2016 Glo-CAF Awards Gala, sponsored by telecommunication giants, Globacom, will be held on Jan. 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.