Sports Olumide Oyedeji Intercollegiate Basketball Championship Gets September 19-27 Date

All is set for the Eight-Team Olumide Oyedeji Intercollegiate Basketball Championship billed scheduled for Mobolaji Okoya-Thomas Sports Hall, Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos, from 19 to 27 September.

Four top teams selected from the last Nigeria University Games are: Ahmadu Bello University, University of Lagos, Federal University of Technology, Minna and Obafemi Awolowo University; while top two teams at the last Nigeria Polytechnic Games: Lagos State Polytechnic and Auchi Polytechnic; and the top two teams at the last Nigeria Colleges of Education Games: Niger State College of Education and Federal College of Education, Technical, Gombe.

After the draw, which was held in Lagos on Tuesday, OAU, ABU, Niger COE, and LASPOTECH were drawn in Group A, while FUT Minna, UNILAG, FCOE Gombe and Auchi Poly were drawn in Group B.

According to the Technical Director of the championship, Biola Shomala, after the first round, the top two teams in Group A would play the top two teams in Group B in a crisscross format to produce the finalists.

Oyedeji, a former captain of D’Tigers, told journalists at the draw that the championship, which he initiated, was aimed at promoting education and basketball.

The former Orlando Magic player said the championship would be another platform for promoting basketball in Nigeria, apart from the annual Olumide Oyedeji Basketball Camp, which would be held between August 31 and September 5.

The championship will be sponsored by the Olumide Oyedeji Foundation in partnership with Honeywell Flour Mill. Punch
Olumide Ayodeji1.jpg