Metro Six Islamic Nations Announce End of Ramadan



Saudi Arabia and five other countries have announced the end of Ramadan, the Islamic fasting season.

Saudi, in conjunction with Qatar, Malaysia, Indonesia and the United Arab Emirates then fixed Sunday as the first day of Eid-el-Fitr 1438, the report said.

Eid al-Fitr is usually commemorated marks the end of the Muslim holy fasting month of Ramadan, after the sighting of the moon.

“Turkey and Muslim communities in North America, Europe and Australia had previously announced they would celebrate Eid al-Fitr from Sunday June 25 based on astronomical calculations.

“Oman, however, has not sighted the moon, and thus declared Monday June 26 as the first day of Eid al-Fitr.

“Bangladesh, Pakistan, India will be sighting the moon on Sunday. These countries started Ramadan on May 28 and so Sunday will be the 29th of Ramadan for them.”

All the countries who have confirmed Sunday as Eid-el-Fitr are Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Iraq (Sunnis), Indonesia, Jordan, Kuwait, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Lebanon, Malaysia, UAE, UK, United States and Yemen.

Nigeria is yet to announce the sighting of the moon, although the Sultan of Sokoto has called on muslims to vigilant as the moon could be sighted on Saturday evening. The federal government of Nigeria has also announced Monday and Tuesday as holidays to celebrate Eid-el-fitr.


  • ramadan fast.jpg
    ramadan fast.jpg
    48.5 KB · Views: 7