Metro Tension as Benin Republic Invades Kwara, Takes Over 16 Villages



Nigeria - There is tension in the border town of Okuta in Baruten LGA of Kwara State over the alleged invasion of 16 villages by the authorities of Benin Republic.

According to ThisDay, authorities of the neighbouring country have gone ahead to construct Gerdarmes Office (Police station) in the affected Nigerian communities and also hoist their national flag at the affected Nigeria villages.

The development disregards the boundary delimitation of 1914 between Britain and France which the two countries had respected.

The affected Nigerian villages include‎ Ogomne, Bwin, Gandasunon, Kpuru and Woru Wuren Kparu.

Others are Ajuba,1, Ajuba 2, Saka Yeruman Kparu,Monta, Dotin Kparu,Halidun Kparu, Yakubun Kparu, Sonsi,Gunosani, Alhaji Kparu,Yodo Mankparu and Simen Kparu.

Reports say the development has also led the Okuta Emirate Council to order the people of Yakparu axis to dismantle of the Beninoire flag hoisted at Nigerian villages and the flag is currently at the custody of the emirate council in the town.



  • kwara map.jpg
    kwara map.jpg
    8.4 KB · Views: 17