Politics Buhari Loyalists To Use First-Term Governors For President’s Second-Term Bid


New Member
Loyalists and supporters of President Muhammadu Buhari who are pushing for a second term ticket are planing to woo the APC's first-term governors to achieve their aim, report says.

Recall that six of the party’s serving 24 governors have openly declared support for the President to seek the party’s ticket for re-election in 2019.

These are Kano Sate Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, Solomon Lalong of Plateau State; Yahaya Bello of Kogi State; Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa State; Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State as well as Kaduna State governor, Nasir El-Rufai.

A top-ranking member of the APC, who spoke on condition of anonymity explained that as part of strategies to get more of the party’s powerful governors on board, the President had started consulting the states’ helmsmen on appointments into the headship of federal agencies.

He also made reference to the tone and language used by the President in his address to party men and women at the just concluded National Caucus and National Executive Council meeting of the party.

The APC’s first term governors, who will most likely seek re-election in 2019, are Jibrilla Bindow (Adamawa); Mohammed Abubakar (Bauchi); Samuel Ortom (Benue); Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa), Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna), Umar Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano); Aminu Masari (Katsina); Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi); Yahaya Bello (Kogi); Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos); Abubakar Bello (Niger); Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo); Simon Lalong (Plateau) and Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto).


  • IMG_20171105_105903.jpg
    66.6 KB · Views: 8