Chimezie Anajama: Giving Hope To Nigeria's Street Children Through NwuliaReads

P

PressRoom

What do you think of Street Kids when you see them? They are young children who roam the neighbourhoods. With a very helpless look, they take up sub-standard jobs, that sometimes lead them into trouble. They are used as errand boys in motor parks, and other public places – all in search of daily living. Not all of them are without living parents, but economic and family situation have made life seemingly hopeless for them. Chimezie Anajama, a young university graduate, and a Corps member in Uyo picks up these streets kids, identifies with them, and gives them hope of reading and literacy through her NwuliaReads Initiative. She is Nigerian Bulletin's Feature on our Weekend Spotlight.

------
Tell us about yourself:
I am Chimezie Vivien Anajama. I am a product of University of Nigeria, Nsukka where I studied Sociology and Anthropology. I hail from Agulu, Anambra state. I realised that something might in for me here in social advocacy, literature, leadership and humanitarian paths when I began writing unpublished essays critiquing government policies an actions in her primary to secondary school days. I also fell hopelessly in love with reading earlier in life and has moulded me into this person i am. I sometimes pretend to call myself a writer, - occasional one though. Travelling is a hobby that has exposed me further and helped me to understand better.

Chimezie.jpg
What is the mission and vision of your initiative – NwuliaReads? The Vision is to be a leading educational platform in building an army of readers and thinkers with strong leadership potentials.

Our Mission is to make literacy activities, leadership and learning appealing to children, teens and young people as a way of building them for their future roles, with special focus on disadvantaged groups.