1. Tai Ing Wen: Tai Ing Wen, 59, was elected Taiwan's first female president on January 16, 2016. The former law professor and leader of the opposition Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) will also gain control of Taiwan's legislature for the first time, following eight years of government under the ruling, pro-China Kuomintang (KMT) party.
taiwan 1.jpg

2. Ying luck Shinawatra: Ying luck Shinawatra, 48, is a businesswoman and the former Prime Minister of Thailand. She was dismissed from office in 2014 for alleged abuse of power.

yingluck shinawatra.jpg

3. Johanna Sigurdardottoir: Johanna Sigurdardottoir, 73, left, is the former Prime Minister of Iceland. She is former Iceland's first female to hold the first openly lesbian head of government.

johanna sigur.jpg
4. Michelle Bachelet: Michelle Bachelet, 64, is the President of Chile, having served her current term since March 11, 2014. She previously served as president from 2006 – 2010, becoming the first woman in Chile to hold that position.

5. Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic: Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic, 47, is the 4th and current President of the Republic of Croatia. She is the first woman to hold office.

kolinda grabar.jpg

6. Bidhya Devi Bhandari: Bidhya Devi Bhandari, 54, is the second and current president of Nepal. Nepal's parliament elected Bhandari to become the country's first female president in October 2015.

bidhya devi bhandari.jpg

7. Dilma Rouseff: Dilma Ruseff, 68, is the president of Brazil and the first female in the country to hold the office.

dilmaa rouseff.jpg

8. Ameenah Garib Fakim: Ameenah Gurib Fakim, 56, is the 6th and the current president of Mauritus. The biodiversity scientist is the first woman elected to be the country's president.

9. Ellen John Sirleaf: Ellen John Sirleaf, 77, is the 24th and current President of Liberia. She is the first elected female head of state in Africa.

ellen johnson sirleaf.jpg

10. Park Geun-hye: Park Geun-hye, 63, was elected President of South Korea in 2013. She is the daughter of former South Korean President Park Chung-hee and is the first female to hold that position.

park geun-hye.jpg

11, Aung San Suu Kyi: Aung San Suu Kyi's opposition National League for Democracy (NLD) won a historic majority in Myanmar's parliamnent on November 8, 2015, marking the nation's rejection of military rule. The elections were the first freely held in the nation in 25 years. Despite her party's win, the nobel laureate cannot become president under military-drafted constitution.
aung san suu kyi.jpg

12. Angela Merkel: Angela Merkel, 61, has been the Chancellor of Germany since 2005 and is the European Union's longest serving head of government.

angela markel.jpg