The Federal Government has listed about eight emergency centres and agencies that will provide medical services in case of accidents during the six weeks of the closure Abuja airport.

This is coming as a result of the closure of Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja and the transfer of its services to the Kaduna Airport, with effect from March 8, 2017.

Eight medical centres alongside ten governmental and non-governmental agencies were named to be responsible for the provision of emergency services.


The eight health facilities which are situated in Kaduna and Niger states are Umar Yar’Adua Specialist Hospital, Anglican Mission Hospital, Katari, General Hospital, Doka, the Federal Road Safety Corps Clinic, Kakau, Rigasa Health Centre Dutse, St. Gerard’s Hospital, Kakuri; and the National Eye Centre, Kaduna.

Also ten agencies have been listed to help manage and coordinate emergency situations.

They are the FRSC, Nigeria Police Force, NEMA, Federal Fire Service, the National Blood Transfusion Service, Association of Medical Social Workers of Nigeria; Kaduna State Ministry of Health; Niger State Ministry of Health; Federal Capital Territory Health and Human Services Secretariat; and the Ministry of Defence.